Content Creation, Lifestyle, New Jersey, Organization, Rutgers University, Self Improvement, Strategic Presentation

Strategic Presentations & Class Overview

HOW DO YOU DEFINE STRATEGIC PRESENTATIONS?

As we near the end of our strategic presentations course, students can now put together their own, solid definition of what strategic presentations in digital media are. In my opinion, there’s a lot of room for interpretation and personalization if you have a general understanding of the concept overall. To me, strategic presentations in digital media are carefully selected projects and presences one can develop online that can come in several different mediums intended to speak to and engage with a certain audience. These presentations are designed to express a certain message and get the attention of specific people. 

SP IN CLASS!

Taking this understanding of strategic presentations I took note of how we applied these ideas into our class work. I think about the categories and tags on our websites. To reach a certain audience, we work to call them out and strategically select the exact groups of people we want connecting to our pieces. We identify the blog posts with whatever it’s about so that other creators or people who are interested can find it efficiently and get a feel for the content. 

One of my favorite projects was the screencast because I loved how creative we were able to be with the visuals. Again, I think this taps into the ideas of planning when it comes to strategically presenting a piece of media. We were extremely organized and kept it simple in the screencast so that the viewers could clearly understand what was being explained. In my healthy habits video, I used short sentences for my information and used bright imagery to keep the audience focused. 

In the podcast assignment, I felt more free and relatable to an audience. Me and my partner kept it real and had lots of fun with it, making sure our podcast didn’t sound too structured or scripted. The entire point was connect to our generation and to have it feel natural as well as conversational. Between Sam and I, all of the content we consume has a very laidback or humorous type of connection. One of my favorite podcasts is satire and the whole thing is fake, but one of them called Just Trish is a very real, entertaining, and relatable podcast. As we can see, there may be different ways to approach each form of media to reach any audience the creator desires.

FINAL THOUGHTS ON PRESENTING IN THE DIGITAL WORLD

From working with different writings, visuals, audio recordings, and more, I learned how to put myself out there in digital contexts. Now that I know ways to present myself online, I can take this information and use it to push me forward in applying for jobs, internships, and other opportunities in this digital age. 

As a dancer, I connect with the audience in real life through different moves as I tell a story with the music.

For me, strategic presentation is all about the audience. While you should focus on your own interests and passions creating and sharing media, thinking about how to attract and maintain an audience is still an important point. A supportive audience will create opportunities and push you to be better. If you know how to work with different mediums and tweak them to connect with audience; you have a special superpower! Even in the digital world, we can connect and form special bonds to people all over the world and inspire with our creations. 

Leave a comment